St. Louis Events

An Evening with Margaret Atwood: The 2017 St. Louis Literary Award Recipient


Sep 19, 2017 – 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

3648 Washington Boulevard
Saint Louis, MO 63108 Map

More Info

An Evening with Margaret Atwood
The 2017 St. Louis Literary Award Recipient
Presented by the Saint Louis University Library Associates
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
7:00 PM – 8:30 PM | Sheldon Concert Hall ∙ 3648 Washington Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63108

The Saint Louis University Library Associates will present the 2017 St. Louis Literary Award to acclaimed writer Margaret Atwood on Tuesday, September 19 at 7:00 pm at the Sheldon Concert Hall.

This free event is open to the public and will include remarks by Margaret Atwood. A paid reception follows. Seating is limited. Registration and tickets are required.

Autographed copies of Margaret Atwood’s books will be available for purchase at the event from Left Bank Books.

For more information, please call (314) 977-3100 / or e-mail: / or visit to register for the award program and reception.

About Margaret Atwood
In a career spanning more than fifty years, Margaret Atwood has demonstrated a remarkable literary range in moving seamlessly from genre to genre. Atwood is best known for her works of fiction, including The Handmaid’s Tale, Cat’s Eye, and Oryx and Crake. Atwood’s most recent novel, Hag-Seed, is a retelling of Shakespeare’s The Tempest and has received outstanding reviews.

Atwood has written numerous books of poetry, including The Journals of Susanna Moodie, The Circle Game, The Door, and several volumes of selected poems. Atwood’s nonfiction works include Negotiating with the Dead: A Writer on Writing and Moving Targets: Writing with Intent: Essays, Reviews, Personal Prose 1983-2005.

Born in Ottawa, Margaret Atwood is a native of Toronto and has received significant honors over her long career, including the Booker Prize, Ms. Magazine Woman of the Year, Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction, the PEN Pinter Award, and the Canadian Booksellers’ Lifetime Achievement Award. An adaptation of The Handmaid's Tale has been nominated for 13 Emmy awards. In 2017, Ms. Atwood will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Book Critics Circle.

About the St. Louis Literary Award
Established in 1967, the St. Louis Literary Award is presented annually by the Library Associates and has become one of the top literary prizes in the country. The award has recognized some of the most important writers of the 20th and 21st centuries, including W. H. Auden, Saul Bellow, Joan Didion, James A. Michener, Joyce Carol Oates, Tennessee Williams, and Jeanette Winterson.

About the Saint Louis University Library Associates
One of the oldest literary and cultural organizations in St. Louis, the Saint Louis University Library Associates seeks to build a closer relationship between the University and the community and to promote an appreciation for the value of literature. The Library Associates work to enhance the visibility of the Saint Louis University Libraries and to support the development of their world-class collections and services.

For more information on the Saint Louis University Library Associates, visit:
Registration is required.

Bring These Top Artists To Your City

Demand it! ®

and Never Miss a Show Again!

Powered by Eventful, a CBS Local Digital Media Business

Listen Live